What do you think?

As some of you know, if you’ve been reading the blog for a little while, I’m getting married this May (the 24th). 

A theme of the wedding turned out to be Peacock feathers.  This was an accident, though a happy one.  I picked out colors, (Peacock blue, pale green, and chocolate brown) and then later realized that they are peacock feather colors.  I am sometimes not the brightest crayon in the box.  But I did realize it eventually.  So, now we are incorporating feathers into the invites,  and flower arrangements.  I really like this idea, and I would like to just say… I was on this feather thing before anyone decided it was the “in” thing to do for this spring/summer season.

Anyhoo… I wanted to knit my grandmother a shawl to wear at the wedding, and I have gorgeous peacock blue lace yarn (a whole cone! 1400 yards… yay!).  I was planning on doing the Peacock Feathers Shawl by Dorothy Seimens.  I think it’s terribly appropriate and pretty.  

I went to Ravelry this morning to get to the download page for the pattern… and of course, it’s not a downloadable pattern.  I have to order it.  Which means that not only am I paying $12 for the pattern, I’m paying tax and shipping too.   I don’t wanna.

So, I’m looking for other options.   I already have the patterns for the Shetland Triangle, and the Icarus Shawl, so I’m leaning toward those.  Especially in these lean money times.  I think both of them have the suggestion of feathers, perhaps the eye of the peacock feather is more obviously suggested in the Shetland.  Plus, we already know I can knit them without problems.

Now, what I need from you, my dear sweet readers, is your very important opinion. 

Should I save the money and knit what I have, or will I regret not going with the theme?

~ by Brandy on February 21, 2008.

2 Responses to “What do you think?”

  1. Icarus is absolutely lovely–You could call it a BIG peacock feather! Kiri is free and it has a peacock-like pattern. Your grandmother will only be thrilled that she has a lovely shawl! Plus, the pattern needs to be simple so you can finish it FAST!

  2. What about the Pretty as a Peacock shawl? (although after looking at it you might have the same problem) or the irtfa’a faroese lace shawl from KnitSpot? that one is available for download for $8.

Leave a Reply

 
