On a Blue Blossom

I’m currently waiting for a couple of yarn orders to arrive… so when I finished the Gretel Snood I looked around for projects/yarn to work on.  I cast on for a couple things and I was just not feeling the love. 

The Lenore socks, although very pretty, remain languishing at the bottom of my rather large purse.  I have not been able to find spare moments to knit on them and they just aren’t grabbing my attention the way I’d hoped.  I think in the last 3 or 4 days I’ve done maybe 3 rows.

I had some KP shine sport lying about and decided to swatch it to see if the 16 balls of it that I ordered for the Printed Silk Cardigan would be of any use… I swatched with 4 different needle sizes… I don’t see how it’s going to work.  Unless I do some major math… I’ll have to ponder that one for a while.  I got stitch gauge with 2 of the 4 needles, but was WAY off for row gauge.  I’m talking 4 or 5 rows off.  How in the world does that happen I ask you!?!? 

I suppose one can always modify sleeves and bodies easily enough when row gauge is an issue… just don’t knit as much.  But it becomes a problem for me in the shoulder area.  One doesn’t want armholes that hang and make one’s newly svelte arms look all a-jiggly.

I decided that while I pondered the fate of those 16 balls of yarn, I might as well knit something.  I searched and searched, and compared with my swatch notes.. and decided on the Lotus Blossom Tank from an Interweave from years passed.  What year?  I’m sure you can Ravel it… I don’t remember and I don’t have it with me.

KP shine sport seems to be the most popular yarn sub for this pattern, so I don’t feel too adventurous.  And the blue might be a bit questionable.  It’s very bright… but I’m sure once I’ve subjected myself to some kind of tanning (I’ll probably start doing the fake spray on tan this year) it’ll be quite lovely…

Plus, I can always frog it 🙂

~ by Brandy on February 19, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
