FO: Gretel Snood

FO: Gretel Snood, originally uploaded by brandy.wolfe.

Pattern: Gretel
Designer : Ysolda Teague
Yarn: Debbie Bliss Alpaca Silk
Needles: US 5 and US 7
Size made: Slouchy
Mods: none
Raveled

I made this loverly piece of snood-y goodness for my friend Brooke. She has amazing long curly hair that looks out of this world in big floppy hats. It makes her look like a model… for serious.

One day, I’ll put her outside in her tree filled backyard and we’ll have a photoshoot.

And… I loved making this hat so very much, I plan on making lots of them. I know a fasshonaburu who would love to have her very own, probably in purple. And also… I want one. I originally though this style would be too slouchy for me, and I wouldn’t be able to pull it off. But really… how excited do I look? I even love the color. And I have enough of the same yarn to make another. Soooooo… I’m going to make a twin snood for my own noggin.

This only took me 2 days to make. The weekend was a stay at home on the couch weekend for me… I was sick with the flu 😦 So sick on Friday that I didn’t knit a single stitch all the livelong day.

Oh and my dear fasshonaburu… I need a fashion forecast. Will slouchy hats be “in” for next fall/winter? I want to know so that I can really get behind this Slouchy hat jag I think I’m going to be on. They’ll be great presents for next Christmas.

~ by Brandy on February 13, 2008.

4 Responses to “FO: Gretel Snood”

  1. Very cute! I love that color!

  2. the hat is fabulous on you! beautiful work!
    hope you feel 100% better πŸ™‚

  3. Berets are still cute, but I’m desperate for a knitted mowhawk hat!!! I think a lot of hats in the shows were structured looking.
    http://www.fasshonaburu.com/2008/02/knit-mowhawk-hat.html

  4. Well, I think it looks fantastic on you! Who cares about the fashion forecast, I say make as many slouchy hats as you like : )

    Your Anemoi Mittens are beautiful, too!

Leave a Reply

 
