FO: Salish Sea STR



FO: Salish Sea STROriginally uploaded by brandy.wolfeLookie Lookie… a finished object.

Didn’t know I still had it in me did you? I know I talk about alot of FO’s, but there’s nary a photo for proof. Well, I got your proof 🙂

Pattern: Salish Sea
Designer: Cat Bordhi
Yarn: Bella Coola STR med. weight
needles: size 1(US) circs
size made: Small
mods:
– I totally couldn’t figure out the magic cast on that the pattern calls for, but I knew it was a type of provisional cast on… so I just did a provisional cast on that I knew (one which I learned and actually modified to do on the 2 circs rather than using a scrap yarn).
– I didn’t do as many leg pattern repeats as called for. I don’t think it’s that pretty.
-I didn’t do the wavy edging at the cuff. I didn’t want to use any more of the yarn than I had to, so I just used a sewn bind off.

I’m just guessing here, but you’ve probably figured out that I really didn’t like these socks very much. You would be right. I don’t like them at all. Not all together at least. I like the separate parts just fine.

In fact, I love the parts of this sock.

I love the swirly toe, It’s weird to walk on at first, but you get used to it and it’s so pretty and the pattern is easy to remember.

I love the gussett increases. You don’t even have to think about it, it just works.

I love the bottom-up concealed wrap heel flap. Cat Bordhi’s a genius, I will DEFINITELY be using this method again.

I love that the patterns are mirrored.

I even love how the yarn pooled in the exact same spot and the in the same color.

I love that my sewn bind off at the top of the cuff matches flawlessly with the garter stitch pattern which makes it nearly impossible to tell what direction I knitted this sock in.

All of that said… I will never ever knit this pattern again.
I loved all the parts of the sock. I don’t even like looking at the sock itself. They’ve been gifted to a recipient who has an unreasonable attraction to them.

I’m saving the rather large amount I have left for a loverly combo sock that will combine this with the purpley goodness that I made pomatomus with. They’re about the same weight, and I think I have enough of each of them so that I could get 2 whole pairs out of them. One mostly blue, the other mostle purple.
I think I’ll go with simple contrasting toes, heels and cuffs for both.

~ by Brandy on January 28, 2008.

Leave a Reply

 
