The Mitred Square Revolution…



Mitred Square…

Originally uploaded by brandy.wolfe

I’m slow to join… But at least I showed up… right?

Is it just me, or do all the mitred squares look awfully lopsided before they’re blocked?

Mine look very triangle-ly. After I made the first one (not the one pictured) I went and blocked it to be sure it would end up more square like. It did… so I’m continuing.

I used to not like the look of the mitred squares, and leaned toward using my leftover sock yarn for a garter stitch square blanket. But the first yarn I did a garter stitch square in just looked horrendous.
Typically I really like how garter stitch makes striped yarns look. But this was just sooooo bad. The way the colors blended made the square look dirty and dingy. Not what I expected from the leftover Bellatrix yarn. The BMFA Flower Power colorway was so fun and bright! But sooooo not good in garter.

So I decided to see how it would look in the mitred squares… Just because. And what do you know… I loved it.

I finally joined the Mitred Square Revolution.
And I like it.

~ by Brandy on January 9, 2008.

One Response to “The Mitred Square Revolution…”

  1. I’m slow to jump on the mitered square bandwagon myself, mainly because I’m not a big fan of things that look too geometric-y. I like your square because it’s not a striped version — those I really don’t like, because looking at a bunch of them in a blanket makes me dizzy, because they tend to vibrate….

Leave a Reply

 
