A Couple of Updates

Square Cake 

I finished knitting the Square Cake bag.  Ooooh, Aaaahhh!   It sparkles and it’s green (I’m so into green lately) and it’s just pretty!  And it’s blocking right now.  Over the next couple days- while it blocks it’s little silky heart out- I plan to look for fabric remnants in the local  fabric stores so that I can line it.  I can’t decide if I want it to contrast or if I want it to be more matchy matchy with the olivey green goodness. 

I don’t have any pictures for you though, since Bret was out of town this weekend and took the camera.  But I’ll do some snapping tonight.  Because blocking?  So exciting.

I will also give you the knitting details at that time. 

Another Free Pattern

I totally could have had this pattern for the Triple Ribbed hat done by now, but I was in a knitting frenzy with the square cake.  I have the bones all set out, and I just have to fill in the blanks and presto it’ll be up there on the side with the other free patterns.  (P.S. please someone make the herringbone mitts!  I was dying to see someone else wearing my design, but now I’m just worried that there’s something seriously technically wrong with the pattern.)

On Anais

I got the front finished up to the armholes last night, but then when i held it up to myself, the most horrible thing happened:  It’s too short for me!  It specified 11.5 inches from the bottom to the armhole.  And that’s what I had.  And it would have been just fine and dandy, if I was not a NORMAL person with a belly

A flat bellied human being, while somewhat hard to come by in the wild, is the general standard for photoshoots.  Sometimes I forget this.  I also forget that I like longer garments, not only to hide my belly, but also to make my short torso look longer.  Yay for optical illusions!  So I ripped back to the 112 st waist and lenthened that by about 1/2 an inch and now I will again proceed with the increases.  But I will do them every 8th row, rather than every 6th row.  

And that my friends…  is what we call “winging it”

~ by Brandy on December 10, 2007.

Leave a Reply

 
