FO: Koolhaas hat

Pattern: Koolhaas
Source: IK Holiday Gifts ’07
Yarn: Louet Riverstone
Color: “Carribean” (I know this is spelled funky…. ask Louet)
Needles: US 8 dpns
Mods: none

If I were going to knit this hat again in the same yarn… I would take out a pattern repeat.  I like my hats not so tight usually, and this really feels ideal on my head, but it tends to slide up and have this cone head effect.  I’d deal with slightly tighter to avoid being a cone head.  Or… I would do the bottom ribbing in a smaller needle size.  Maybe even a US6.  I do think that the Louet was a bit on the bigger side of the weight category, but I really love the squish of the yarn, and the color is to die for.   

~ by Brandy on November 27, 2007.

5 Responses to “FO: Koolhaas hat”

  1. It looks great. 🙂

    For size, I would do just the opposite. The tightness of the ribbing is probably what’s making it slide up. Make it a little looser, and it will stretch correctly and stay. But too tight, it’ll wanna contract and pop right off your head. I’m trying to think of something as an example… imagine putting a balloon around an orange. It’ll curl up until you wrap under the other side of the orange as well. Or it’ll slice a line clear through it if it’s tight enough. Which we don’t for foreheads. Like glasses nose-pad dots on my nose. 🙂 Does this make sense? I feel I got a little surreal….

    Lovely hat though! 🙂 Hehehe…

  2. oh… but it doesn’t look too tight. so… i could be making up theories. 🙂

  3. You know what else you should make? Beard cap!!!
    http://kitsunenoir.com/blog/2007/11/18/the-bearded-cap-by-vik-prjonsdottir/

  4. Beautiful! I think you picked a perfect yarn for that hat — Louet has such good stitch definition, which is really called for with thta pattern. And of course, love the color. Nice job! 🙂

  5. Love it!

Leave a Reply

 
