FO: Aamu

Pattern: Aamu
Source: Berroco Norah Gaughan collection; Vol. 1
Yarn: Berroco Pure Merino Nuance
Needles: US 9 strait, US 7 24″circ, US 8 dpns
Size made: 34″ bust
My size: 41 3/4 ” bust
My guage: 16 1/2 sts x 23 1/2 rows (on larger needles)

I did a guage swatch for this I swear! I even ended up having the same guage as recommended by the pattern, but I still ended up knitting looser. So I had to knit it twice.

Mods:
-Cast on 86 stitches, and decreased 8 to get to the 78 stitches called for in the 34″ size. (increased back to 86 for front ribbing.)
-Picked up 160 stitches around the neck instead of 148
-Picked up 48 stitches around arms instead of 56.

If I were to do it again:
-I would just cast on 82 stitches and decrease 4 (increase 4 back to 82 sts for front ribbing) The ribbing being too loose seems to be a common problem.
– After/before the waist ribbing, I would give it another 3/4 of an inch so it wouldn’t ride up so much around the chest. I might sew some elastic thread into the ribbing just to give it some extra staying power.

Other than that… LOVE LOVE LOVE. Once it was completed, at precisely 1:37 this afternoon, I put it on and went out to 2 of my local yarn haunts to show it off! I already knew exactly what outfit I was going to wear because I’ve been fantasizing about wearing this since before I bought the yarn. It will be in heavy rotation all season, I’m sure of it.

I do fully expect to knit this again, not in the same yarn… next time: a solid colored fluffier yarn for coziness, full length in the torso, 3/4 sleeves, and a deeper collar. Less in the armpit area, the Dolman sleeves are a bit bulky, but I like them – so next time, just less so.

That doesn’t really sound like the same sweater huh?

~ by Brandy on November 10, 2007.

3 Responses to “FO: Aamu”

  1. That is very very cute. I’m sorry you’re so busy. I can empathize. Hey, I’m really sorry about the prize mix up. I feel really badly about it. I’ve intended on starting that bag and I will! But I have been really overwhelmed with my new job – which you can relate to I’m sure.

    Just wanted to touch base. Very cute sweater.

  2. Very cool! I’ve been coveting Aamu since I saw it in person at the Norah Gaughan event I went to at Webs. Yours is lovely!

  3. Adorable!

Leave a Reply

 
