FO: Capello Di Rossi

FO: Capello Di Rossi 

Originally uploaded by brandy.wolfe

Pattern/Source: I used a top down hat increase calculator from The Knitting Fiend to figure out how to start a hat this way… But I had to improvise after that because it didn’t calculate mynumber of stitches properly.
Yarn: Knit Picks Merino Style
Colors: Dusk (1 ball), Crocus (a few yds), Asparagus (24 yds?)
Needles: Size 6 dpns

I actually had to knit this twice and had a little fiasco where I thought I would run out of blue. I ended up with maybe 6 yards left over. Also, I forgot that intarsia can’t be done in the round so I had to abandon my initial attempt and do embroidery instead.
I’m glad I did, because the embroidery makes the “46” stand out so much more. And I did the embroidery on the diagonal so it adds additional texture and motion too. Motion is good since this is an homage to Bret’s idol: Valentino Rossi. World Motorcyle Champion many times over.
Even some of his bad-ass motorcycle riding friends thought the idea for this hat was “F#$%$**@ SWEET!” I think that indicates ultimate success.

~ by Brandy on October 20, 2007.

4 Responses to “FO: Capello Di Rossi”

  1. Cute!

  2. The embroidery looks fantastic – so dimensional!

  3. Love it!!!! The embroidered numbers turned out REALT well.

  4. Very nice!! I agree with everyone else – the embroidery rocks the house! I completely love the validation you received. I would take a F#$%$**@ SWEET! any f$%@#**& day!

Leave a Reply

 
