I am disappointed.

I hear such wonderful and amazing things about WEBS.  I am wildly impressed with their selection, and even planned a special trip to the warehouse when I head up to Massachusettes next spring for my bachelorette party in Boston.  (I am that obsessed)

I am now seriously re-thinking that plan. 

In the last month, I have made 2 purchases from WEBS. 

BOTH times, “Customer Service” has emailed me telling me that my order cannot be filled for some reason.

That makes a yarn buyer very unhappy.  I am not only a yarn buyer I am a stickler for good customer service.  I used to be in retail and I ALWAYS went out of my way to try to make sure that people had/got/were able to get what they needed or wanted when they needed it or wanted it.  

I feel like a very abused and dismissed customer.

Advertisements

~ by Brandy on September 20, 2007.

6 Responses to “I am disappointed.”

  1. You know what? I’ve browsed the WEBS site and I don’t get what the big deal is. I must be missing something because you’re right – lots of people rave about it, but the prices are not that terrific. Now I’m glad I haven’t ordered from them at all.

  2. Sorry your experience was not good. Sad face.

  3. Hi Brandi

    I am so sorry to hear that you had less than awesome experiences ordering with us. My husband and I own the company and work hard to make sure that every customer, be it in the store, on-line or over the phone has a great experience and gets what they need. Sometimes, well, sometimes we can’t get out of our way. Not an excuse by any means. I expect every customer to be treated the way I want to be treated when I shop and that’s just as you describe above in your post. If you would like to email me privately with more details, I would greatly appreciate it. It may not change your mind about shopping with us again, but if I can understand what went wrong, I can certainly do my best to make sure it doesn’t happen again.

    P.S. In terms of our pricing, we mark current/regular yarns are the suggested retail price. These yarns can be combined to save 20% off at $60.00 and 25% off at $120.00. We also buy lots of closeouts and discontinued yarns and offer them at significant savings. So no, our standard pricing is pretty much in line with everyone else, but our discounts are something not offered by other retailers.

  4. Brandy

    P.P.S. Sorry my aging eyes misread the spelling of your name.

  5. Ooo, I was going to put in a positive comment for Webs, but I see that Kathy has already been here. I’m so sorry you’ve had two bad experiences!

    I live a little less than two hours away from Webs, and I’ve been there a few times (to see the Yarn Harlot, Norah Gaughan, and for their big annual sale) and ordered online from them once. They have an amazing inventory, and their automatic discount on all non-sale yarn (20% if you spend $60, 25% if you spend $120) is really nice. Not to mention their close-out prices and special sales.

    As you can probably tell, the owners really care about their customers’ satisfaction. Do drop Kathy an email, and see what they can do to make things better for you…

  6. I’ve ordered from them a couple of times and haven’t had any issues – in fact, I think both times they had an extra ball or skein of yarn for a project I’d started, when I couldn’t find that yarn anymore, locally, which saved the project. I’ve taken their “virtual warehouse tour” that’s on their website which made me determined to visit them someday.

    I do recall that I think the first time I ordered from them, I noticed that their website didn’t appear to be secure (no little padlock in the lower right corner of the browser task bar on the page where you enter credit card info), so I called in my order instead, and also emailed them about the security issue, and they were very responsive to my email. Since then, I think the security issue may have been resolved, but I’m not sure, as I haven’t ordered from them in awhile….

    Anyway, here’s hoping that you’ll give them another chance, and that this time it’s a positive experience.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

 
%d bloggers like this: