An update on the Socks…

I got lots of great suggestions on what sock pattern to use for the fiancee socks in the Lime & Cilantro colorway.  I seriously weighed some of them. 

And then I realized that if he can’t really be bothered to listen to me blather on about my knitting, he really really wouldn’t care about what pattern I used.   Simple ribbed socks it is. It’ll show off the colors, and I won’t feel hurt when he says “Thanks” and throws them in the sock drawer. 

Hmmm, makes me wonder why I’m making him socks anyway.

 Another very serious issue with the socks was my job.  I am having a very stressful week at work.  Normally there are 4 people here (including me) who do this Ombudsman thing.  We all get yelled at, although I seem to be the only one who is not okay with it.  Well, my boss (who is one of the 4 people) seemed to think it would be okay to let the other two people who work here both have their vacation this week.  This means only 2 people here to handle the yelling that is normally handled by 4 people.  And then…. She made plans to NOT BE HERE EITHER on Monday and Tuesday of the week.  That means, I am handling the workload of 4! PEOPLE!

This is at a job that (I think) we have already established as one that I detest.  One that I am leaving.  One that leaves me angry at the end of the day. 

Do you think that maybe, just maybe, my boss is mad at me for leaving and has decided to be passive agressive?  A bit?

So, due to this additional stress, my work knitting must be extra soothing.  Nothing complicated, nothing I can’t put down at a moments notice.  So the ribbed socks are a very logical choice.  Consistent, easy, controllable.

~ by Brandy on September 18, 2007.

2 Responses to “An update on the Socks…”

  1. Eesh! Sorry about all that extra stress at work! I think the ribbed socks make great sense…

  2. You’re looking a little under the weather. I think you should call in sick tomorrow. And maybe Thursday, too…..

Leave a Reply

 
