Kindred Knitter

After working here at for over a year and a half, I have only just today discovered that there is a fellow knitter here. 

I don’t know why it took so long to discover this, since I am VERY VERY open with the fact that I knit.  See the following:

“Hi! Do you like my sweater?  I knitted it myself.”

“Look at the baby booties I just finished”

“Oh, you carve wood for a hobby?  That’s cool.  I knit. I knit really cool stuff”

“Check out my socks, one of a kind!”

“Oh you can’t buy this skirt, you have to knit it.”

Etc…

Turns out, not only is she a knitter she is one of the bigger wigs around here.  It was super fun sitting in a Deputy Commissioner’s (aka Judge’s) office and being totally equalized by our common hobby/obsession.  We chatted about patterns, She enlightened me about a heel flap technique.  I told her about Ravelry.  I know the secret about why she takes off the first week of May every year: (Maryland Sheep and Wool).  We discussed dpns vs 2 circs vs. magic loop.  (we both dislike magic loop).  I told her I would print out a couple of sock patterns for her to try : Monkey and Pomatomus.

My kind of lady.

Seriously the highlight of my day.

~ by Brandy on September 6, 2007.

One Response to “Kindred Knitter”

  1. That totally rawks. I’ve yet to discover any knitters in my non-knitting life — that would be so cool.

Leave a Reply

 
