FO: Lelah Tube Top

     

Lelah Tube Top

Originally uploaded by brandy.wolfe

Pattern: Lelah
Source: Ravelry / Knitting for Boozehags
Needles: Size 7 Circs
Yarn: Lion Brand Cotton Ease
Color: Violet
Date started: Sunday 8/12/07
Date completed: Saturday 8/18/07

It’s one of the more popular patterns on Ravelry right now. And I know why. It’s quick and satisfying with great results!I think the lace pattern adds a great amount of interest. And since it’s like a vertical stripe, it’s slimming as well. I used a yarn that I think was significantly different that the yarn that was called for, and I’m just basing that on the fact that I did 16! Repeats of the lace pattern.
I would probably do 15 or maybe even 14 if I were to do it again.
I think the pattern only called for 8 or 9 repeats. Of maybe I’m just way bigger than the girl who wrote the pattern.
Anyhoo… I’ve gotten many compliments on it and have worn it twice already.I also felt the need to make a pretty significant mod to the back. The original pattern calls for you to knit a stockinette tube will it covers the *ahem* boobs. This makes for a pretty high back and it would have been bulky under my arms, which is never comfortable especially in the humid heat of Richmond Virginia.

I did some magic with short rows (4 times!) until I figured out the slope I wanted from front to back, which is as follows:
     

-I marked the center stitch in back and started short rows (with wrapping) from 10 sts out from either side of center. I did the gradual slope by doing the turn/wrap at 3 stitches from the previous wrapped st. (at 4 sts from last wrapped st for the last 4 rows) I continued in this manner until I was satisfied with the coverage in the front.

-Then I knitted even for one inch.

-I sewed in the elastic with the wrapped stitches hidden just inside the fold-over.

~ by Brandy on August 23, 2007.

5 Responses to “FO: Lelah Tube Top”

  1. Very, very cute!

  2. it came out great and it looks great on you

  3. That is super cute and I’m a little jealous because I could never get away wearing that! No, really, it’s so pretty. You’re so fancy!

  4. love it!!

  5. So cute! I love your modified back.

Leave a Reply

 
