Shawl Collar Cardigan : You Want It…

I know, You were just dying to see my brown blob.  My oh so wonderfully beautiful brown blob of fluffy cuddly warm and toasty happiness.

Shawl Collar Cardigan

I look smug, don’t I?  Well that is because I love, love, LOVE this sweater.  I will wear it to death.  And, AND, it’s machine washable!  MMMM, Lovey.

Shawl collar cardigan 2

Thank goodness I am not as wide as my chair though…

 I finished it this morning, literally stitching up the last in the first 5 minutes I was at work.  It has gotten “Ooohs” and “Aaahs” and even a “No, you did not make that!”. 

Inside Mod - Shawl Collar Cardigan

Pattern: Shawl Collar Cardigan (#4) Vogue Knits Fall ’05

Yarn: Debbie Bliss Cashmerino Aran and Astrakhan in the colors called for in the pattern. (I know, I’m not original, but why mess with greatness)

Modifications: 

  • The inside tie shown in the above picture was my own addition. 
  • As is the bottom ribbed edging.  The pattern called for no edging along the bottom hem, but with all the other edges so nicely finished it just didn’t look quite right rolling up because of the stockinette stitch.  I think the edging not only adds just the right amount of length to it, but also makes the whole garment look just a bit more professional.
  • I used small suede ties I had around the house just pulled through a couple of stitches so that they’re easily removable for washing.  I thought this was more practical than making the whole thing dry clean only because of a sewn on suede ribbon.
  • I made the sleeves 3 whole inches longer than the pattern told me to.  Instead of decreasing 2 stitches every 8th row 8 times, I decreased every 10th row 8 times and knitted the remaining length until they were the way I wanted them.
~ by Brandy on March 9, 2007.

3 Responses to “Shawl Collar Cardigan : You Want It…”

  1. I love this sweater! You are so inspiring with how quickly you whip up these items. I’ll have to get that pattern – I’m so making this 🙂

  2. The sweater is fantastic, Brandy — Kudos! 🙂

  3. Was this in the Fall issue of Vogue Knitting 05 or Knit.1 by Vogue? I went to the Vogue website and they must be out of the back issues, because they don’t show a Fall only issue, just a Winter 05/06. They do have a fall 05 in the Knit.1 though. I really want this pattern!!!

    Roberta

Leave a Reply

 
