2 Year Anniversary

Today is the 2 year anniversary of two different but related events in my life. 

1. Knitting :  I took up knitting 2 years ago this very day.  I have loved every stinkin frogging, dropping, knitting moment of it.  I wouldn’t give it up for the world.  It allows me to be both creative and practically productive, which not all arts do.  And it allows me to be much much healthier than I used to be.  How you ask?  This is because of number 2.

2. Quitting Smoking :  Once I realized that the main reason I had been smoking for 7 or 8 years (I know, gross) was that I needed something to do with my hands, I decided it was high time I start keeping my hands otherwise occupied.  Enter the wonderful world of knitting.  I had learned how to crochet at an early age, and I still dabbled in cross stitching, but I had wanted to try knitting for some time.  So I taught myself.  I went out, got a book and taught myself to knit from the pictures in it.  Worked like a charm.  Haven’t had a cigarette since.  

Of course I can’t give knitting all the credit.  The very vast majority of it, yes.  But the rest goes to my boyfriend (who does not, and never has smoked). 

So.  Knitting CAN make you a better person.  I have other proof of this, as do all you other knitters.  I challenge you to find a knitter who is not a good person.  I dare you!  I double dog dare you! 

~ by Brandy on December 20, 2006.

One Response to “2 Year Anniversary”

  1. Wow, congratulations on your knitiversary and for having quit smoking! Good for you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

 
