Hourglass Sweater! + some

I finished the hourglass sweater from Last Minute Knitted Gifts and I love it. It’s so comfy and cozy. But it does seem a bit bulky, I’m hoping it’ll shrink up a bit when it’s washed. But not too much… then there would be much crying and swearing going on.
Alas, the yarn for the Equinox Yoke pullover hasn’t arrived yet! What to do?? Well I decided wince that damn baby blanket was getting on my nerves (boring boring boring), that I just had to finish it. and finish it I did… I don’t think I’ll bother to make the matching cardigan for it though, I think this is quite enough for someone I barely speak to thank-you-very-much! I’d show you the detail of the cables, but there are 2 reasons I’m not going to. Reason number 1 is that they’re just basic cables. There is nothing special about them, therefore you can imagine exactly what they look like. Still wondering? Go find a knited item in your home with cables, If they look simple and boring, I can almost guarantee that these are the same. Reason number 2 is that I would have to fight with blogger in order to get another picture up here, and I am just not willing to do that for a baby blanket.

Since I was anxious to start on another wearable item I swatched and cast on for the Cabled Spiral Pullover from Knitting Nature:

I’m very excited about this one since it’s in the most luxurious decadent yarn: Classic Elite Wool Bam Boo. It’s so soft! And I think it’ll drape really really well and it has this fantastic sheen to it! yummy…

Really I cast on for this last night (Monday) although some of you out there may have seen me swatching for it at TNK at the Yarn Lounge last week. Well, of course when I got home and started up for it, the gauge was off on my own needles… surprise surprise. So I swatched on 3 other needle sizes and was about to give up and go back the Yarn Lounge to buy the needles I had swatched with, when I decided that math wasn’t going to intimidate me! So, I did some calculations, and found that the gauge I was getting would work perfectly (knit in the medium size of the pattern) to make the measurements of the small size, which is precisely the size I wanted. So ha. ha ha ha. stupid needles.

*And all you pro knitters out there, please refrain from informing me that this will not work and that I am doomed to failure, because dammit I am doing it anyway! Plus, I have already resigned myself to failure, therefore being pleasantly surprised if it does work, and not surprised at all if it doesn’t work. *

Freak news of the day! A ginormous acorn was found in the front yard. So large in fact that it dwarfs this poor little quarter. Awwww poor quarter. I’m sure Cooper will enjoy it, he loves eating acorns.

~ by Brandy on September 1, 2006.

One Response to “Hourglass Sweater! + some”

  1. Just think of the oak tree that acorn could become!–>

Leave a Reply

 
