Awww…


Our little knitter (me) is all grown up and making socks!
That’s right, I’m a sock maker… officially.
I feel like a real honest to goodness knitter now.
This is like some sort of right of passage in the knitting world isn’t it?

The cuffs, though they might look a bit funny, since they’re short are actually a fantastic length. Even without folding them over they are a very comfy height. (SCORE 1 for Brandy)I liked the pattern, basic, functional… The pattern was easy to follow, no problems there (1 for Brandy). Even got the gauge right! (1 for Brandy)

But they are maybe a bit too un-fun for something that you wanna showoff. Because OMG how I want to show them off.

“Socks! Socks!! Have you seen my new socks? I made them! All by myself! No, REALLY!”

I try to tell everyone really. Well, everyone that comes into my house. I don’t think I’m to the point where I’ll start approaching people on the street. (Score 1 for the sock) Yet…

However, I think that the heel flaps are a bit short (maybe even shorter on one than the other, since I am bad at remembering to count my rows) SCORE 1 for the First Sock Ever! Here I point out the “ever” in hopes that I won’t make a mistake like this again.

Final Score? Brandy = 3 Sock = 2

Overall?? Not a bad score for my first attempt.

But my second attempt?

ALREADY LOOKING FABOOOOOO

Pictures tomorrow… when blogger is not being shitty.

~ by Brandy on May 26, 2006.

3 Responses to “Awww…”

  1. Brandy, they are great!
    You must be a contortionist to take pictures like that though.

    There is nothing so good as socks that you have knit yourself.

  2. Woohoo – a pair of socks! I recognise that yarn 😉 They look great. I’ve been doing more frogging than knitting recently 😦 but I’m going ok on a pair of short socks in some Opal – just a sold orange colour. I bought myself a couple of new sock books so i’m trying a basic pattern from one of them.

  3. Congrats on the socks! What an accomplishment. Someday soon I hope to be struttin’ mine as well!

Leave a Reply

 
