UFO’s and other such craziness

For you non-knitters out there: when I speak of UFO’s, I am referring to my “unfinished objects”, aka “on-the-needles” aka “works in progress” aka “examples of my short attention span”
But for those of you in the know here it is:
still unfinished (but ever closer to being done) is the sweater for Bret. Which is no longer for Bret… and that is due to my fear of the breakup curse placed on all boyfriend sweaters. I stopped working on it for a long time and then decided to continue making it, but to do it for someone else, someone who is safely married. However, if it ends up being to small for him, seeing as how it was originally being made for someone else, I may end up giving it to Bret. I think that intending it for someone else should be fine. I hope.


As you can see the back, front and one sleeve are finito! working fairly quickly on the second sleeve and will hopefully have it done in a couple of days (busy busy me with work and school and all).

Another thing that has been distracting me from the UFO at hand is a brand new project. I wanted to try my hand at felting. So I went to my LYS (local yarn store, you non-knitters) and got a gorgeous wool yarn in 2 colors, a maroony purple (almost an eggplant color) and a dark greenish (darker than hunter green) color. I love those two colors together! And I wanted to atempt to make a bag of some sort.
But I could not COULD NOT find this pattern I had once seen. I have not a clue how big to make anything, (because it’s supposed to shrink a lot right?) but I’m attempting to do something anyway. If it ends up being really small… then I’ll claim that I intended to make a little felted clutch, or something… whatever it looks like I suppose… Or maybe if it’s really THAT small I can always fill it with catnip and leave it to Dirty. Here’s what I’ve got so far:

Yes, It’s very boring right now, looks like im going for a stockinette scarf… maybe one day it’ll be gorgeous. I’ll definitely keep you posted.

And now for the shameful confession:

I went on a little fiber-related shopping spree… ebay sellers love me… for about $120 worth of yarn. But it’s all gorgeous! I swear! and well worth it!! I got probably about $350 worth of yarn for the low low (okay not so low) price of $120 give or take. And I got my secret pal a yarn that she’s really been wanting to try! So see, it’s not all for me. Just most of it. ahahaha

~ by Brandy on February 20, 2006.

3 Responses to “UFO’s and other such craziness”

  1. The jumper is looking good. I’m yet to tackle something like that although I did start making a top for me but I’ve only done a few inches of it and haven’t touched it for a few months now. Anyway, I’ve got way too many things on the go / planned at the moment šŸ™‚ I mustn’t buy any more yarn. I Sooo wish I could knit faster!

  2. Howdy, sweetheart! Thanks for stoppin’ by my blog!
    Yep, I do live in the same town as you! I know the Tuesday night SnB’ers will be happy to have you! I have yet to go knit with them, as they’re way across town from me, but I have every intention of doing so one of these days! Have fun tonight! Oh — and I’m glad to find another local knit-blogger. I’m adding you to my blogroll! šŸ™‚

    -Mary
    http://marysvirginwool.blogspot.com/

  3. Oh, and here’s a thought regarding the boyfriend sweater. How about this: Don’t ever tell him that you made it for him, and keep it at your place in a drawer. Then one day when he’s over and gets cold, say, “oh — try this”, and let him “borrow” it while he’s there with you. If he likes it, he’ll probably let you know, and then you can “give” it to him out of the goodness of your heart. He doesn’t need to know that you made it for him in the first place. šŸ˜‰ How’s that for game-playing?

Leave a Reply

 
