Movie of the Week : Matchpoint

I hesitantly made that the title because I don’t know if I’ll want to do a movie every week… But we’ll see.

So, onto it then:

Amanda and I went to see this movie on Monday evening and both of us felt that it was fan-fucking-tastic! It wasn’t at all what I expected, especially considering it was a Woody Allen movie. I don’t like very many of his movies, I just feel that his humor is a little too dry for me. It’s like Curb your Enthusiam style, and I just don’t appreciate it the way some people do. That’s me and if you don’t like it too bad. But this wasn’t his typical style, as I mentioned, it was more lust story/suspense. Note, I did not say “love.”

I really enjoyed the pairing of Jonathan Rhys Meyers and Scarlett Johansson, eye candy all around! Both did a good job, but I’d have to say Meyers may have overdone it a bit just in a couple parts, but nothing distracting enough to even make a dent in the wonderful storyline. It is by far his best performance I’ve seen. You get to see quite a bit of Scarlett Johansson, and may I just say “DAMN” I so wish I had her figure. [on a side note, I am so happy that Hollywood is moving away from the stick figure actresses and back to the more voluptuous figures. I think it’s much sexier.] Other than the numerous sex scenes, you also get to see her act. I didn’t think much of her in Lost in Translation (I didn’t like that movie too much anyway) but in this, I think she did a great job.
Oh and I absolutely loved the score. Some of you may not like it, it is opera, but I thought that it added so much to the story. I’m going to venture a guess that most of the music they used was from the opera La Traviata (which is featured in the movie).

I want so badly to hash out all the details and discuss how superb the storytelling was, but it would spoil it for the rest of you. Meanwhile Amanda and I can giggle and relive the best parts whenever we see each other.

Just a couple things to whet your appetites:

  • I am so much like the character Chloe… and that makes me mad.
  • There were 2 separate collective gasps from the audience
  • We all applauded at the end of the movie… something I never got since no one in the movie can hear it or appreciate it… but I did it anyway.
  • It’s not about good vs. bad – but I’m not telling you what it’s about, you have to watch it.

So go already!

~ by Brandy on February 8, 2006.

One Response to “Movie of the Week : Matchpoint”

  1. Absolutely FANfuckingTASTIC!

Leave a Reply

 
