Secret Pal 7

Yay I’m in!!!!!! I asked to join late so I am soooo lucky to have been included! Secret Pal, you rock! You’ve already contacted me and hre I am all behind all ready… but not anymore, oh no! For you, and whoever else may be interested, here are my innermost knitterly secrets and desires. (Okay, so it’s not really THAT dramatic, but it’s still ridiculously exciting)

1. Are you a yarn snob (do you prefer higher quality and/or natural fibers)? Do you avoid Red Heart and Lion Brand?
Oh man… I don’t know that I’m a yarn snob yet, but I think I might be getting there soon. I love alpaca and merino for instance but I have recently discovered how soft lion brand homespun is. I really like variegated, handpainted, and thick and thins… really anything with some sort of special quality ( but im really not into the novelty yarns like ribbon, or furry)

2. Do you spin? Crochet?
I haven’t the slightest clue how to spin and I’ve been crocheting since I was little, but I like knitting better, There’s just so much you can do with it compared to crochet.

3. What do you use to store your needles/hooks in?
A bright orange vase, I got it with a really wide mouth in anticipation of the many knitting needles I’ll collect!

4. How long have you been knitting? Would you consider your skill level to be beginner, intermediate or advanced?
I taught myself to knit December of 2004 so just a little over a year now. But I’d consider myself to be pretty skilled for that short time, though not advanced by any means. I’ve done lacework, and I’m trying to finish this cute vest from falls vogue knitting, and I am the master of scarves… but aren’t we all ? lol

5. Do you have an Amazon or other online wish list?
I do indeed, it’s over there on the right in my profile!

6. What’s your favorite scent? (for candles, bath products etc.)
I’m a sucker for things like tahitian vanilla, or moon grass, anything that smells tropical really.

7. Do you have a sweet tooth? Favorite candy?
Oh my, I love chocolates… but my diet doesn’t, and my personal trainer doesn’t either…

8. What other crafts or Do-It-Yourself things do you like to do?
I also cross stitch, crochet, and I’m going to teach myself to quilt this year… I am ambitious aren’t I?

9. What kind of music do you like? Can your computer/stereo play MP3s? (if your buddy wants to make you a CD)
I like quite a large variety of music. Anything but country. That includes rap, hiphop, pop, even opera and other classical are in rotation in my ipod etc etc. I could handle almost any music format I think… I think my computer is pretty capable.

10. What’s your favorite color? Or–do you have a color family/season/palette you prefer? Any colors you just can’t stand?
I am absolutely smitten with blues/teals. I really love any bold saturated colors, deep navy, aubergine, eggplant, rich greens, candy apple reds, etc. Not big on neon or flourescent… I wouldn’t have the slightest idea of what to do with them.

11. What is your family situation? Do you have any pets?
I am living with my boyfriend, my dog Cooper, my cat Dirty and my chinchilla Baxter. They are all boys… yes, 4 boys and little ol’ me.

12. Do you wear scarves, hats, mittens or ponchos?
yes, yes, yes and yes….

13. What is/are your favorite yarn/s to knit with?
Chunky Al, Prism Colinette, anything really soft, I’ve love to get some 100% wool for felting.

14. What fibers do you absolutely *not* like?
I am not a fan of ribbon yarn and furry stuff.

15. What is/are your current knitting obsession/s?
Lace! I’m collecting patterns of all sorts, I desparately want to try fair isle… but im chicken right now.

16. What is/are your favorite item/s to knit?
Lace, I love how the patterns appear like magic, the whole time I’m thinking, “this is never going to work…”

17. What are you knitting right now?
I’m still trying to finish a vest from the fall Vogue Knitting, procrastinating on a pocket scarf for a friend, and taking a brief break from starting new projects after the Christmas knitting rush. But I don’t think that will last long, seeing as how I’m seriously eyeing a pattern in the new vogue knitting… (have you noticed that I like that mag? lol)

18. Do you like to receive handmade gifts?
I bet I’d love it, though I couldn’t say I’d know from experience, since I’m the only person who makes things around here, ahahaha.

19. Do you prefer straight or circular needles?
Depends on the project… I find each useful for different things… I haven’t quite figured out how to gracefully use dpn’s though.

20. Bamboo, aluminum, plastic?
I like bamboo, if only because they are quiet. I like to knit while we watch movies and the aluminum clicking can be a bit annoying sometimes.
21. Do you own a yarn winder and/or swift?
No, but I wish I had one.

22. How did you learn to knit?
I got a book, “The Complete Idiots Guide to Knitting and Crocheting” and I was hooked!

23. How old is your oldest UFO?
Ummm… the second project I started, a really simple basket weave pattern afghan, I got bored with it. But I suspect If I ever finish it, I’ll love it intensely, but breifly before I give it to someone as a present.

24. What is your favorite animated character or a favorite animal/bird?
I love old Goofy cartoons, My boyfriend got me a dvd for Christmas with “The Art of Skiing” and I adore it. Something along those lines. Also, (and no one else remembers this one) the old Donald Duck Christmas cartoon where Chip and Dale are living in the Christmas tree he picks out.

25. What is your favorite holiday?
Christmas, I would say my birthday, but I guess that’s not technically a holiday.

26. Is there anything that you collect?
not particularly, but I guess patterns, and maybe throw pillows…

27. What knitting magazine subscriptions do you have?
I don’t…. but I want vogue knitting!!!! I just love it

28. Any books, yarns, needles or patterns out there you are dying to get your hands on? The books are in my Amazon wishlist, and I would like some smaller needles (7 and under)

29. Are there any new techniques you’d like to learn?
Fair Isle (it’s very intimidating) , Intarsia , using dpn’s

30. Are you a sock knitter? What are your foot measurements?
I haven’t made any socks yet, but I’d like to… that whole dpn thing again and/or no circular needles small enough 🙂 I’m a 9 1/2 Womens… Big feet I know.

31. When is your birthday? (mm/dd)
11/18, yup, already passed.

~ by Brandy on January 16, 2006.

One Response to “Secret Pal 7”

  1. Yay – you’ve put your questionnaire up. Cool. I scanned most of your blog at work earlier (yeah, I’m naughty). I’ll be having a closer read now I’m back home. I reckon we have a few things in common anyway! I love photography too. That’s one thing for starters.

Leave a Reply

 
