And how was yours?

Christmas was good… no, great… no, fantastic! We spent the day with Bret’s family and I swear I had forgotten what Christmas was actually supposed to be like.

I mean, my family is great and all, but I still kind of feel like an outsider sometimes. I love them, but I never really spent that much time with them growing up, so I feel like I have to be on my best behavior the whole time. Which is of course, ridiculous, because they’re your family and they HAVE to love you no matter what. But it was different with his family. I’m not even really a part of his family and I feel totally accepted by them, I could have taken a nap in the middle of all the christmas chaos and been totally comfortable. At my cousins house, I would have just felt rude. (This is a big deal for me, sleeping in front of people that is. It just feels so vulnerable.)

I read this mass email thing from one of my friends once and it was about how researchers asked children what love was. One of the children said that love is what you hear on Christmas morning when you stop unwrapping your own gifts and just listen to the people around you. That stuck with me, and on Christmas morning I listened, and that little kid was right.

~ by Brandy on December 27, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
