There goes another one…

Being the age that I am, 24, I expect to see alot of people around me getting engaged, getting married, having children. It’s quite lovely actually, lets me have something to look forward to.
I think the only problem I have with this is when someone I know… who is 19… is getting engaged. Good for her?

I don’t know what to think.

I know that if I had gotten engaged at that age, and married perhaps by 20, that I would be insanely unhappy today. But hindsight is 20/20 right?

This isn’t the sort of thing you bring up to the wildly happy, brand spankin new affianced little pseudo adult. It’s just not the sort of thing a girl wants to hear, at any age, let alone the leftover rebellious teenager stage. It would bring up alot of accusations. Preaching?(maybe) Jealousy? (perhaps a bit)
Really, I barely know what my motives are anymore, who am I to judge another person’s life? I can’t fault the girl for being in love, but I really want to have her step back and look at her life for a moment. Has she even had a chance to live yet? Has she had her little flings, and her tortured love affairs? Has she had a relationship where she had space to grow as a person? Has she had single time to grow into her OWN person and not into a mold of what someone else wants?
But maybe I’m being silly, not everyone needs those things to be happy right? Some people are content to marry young (really young). Maybe I am a bit jealous that she’s getting what I want now. But that doesn’t change the fact that I think that getting married before you know who you are is a bad idea.

~ by Brandy on December 15, 2005.

Leave a Reply

 
