how does my mind work?

I don’t know where this came from, but I was sitting here chatting and suddenly I found myself wondering something. How many blogs do you supposed there are that have been abandoned, not due to boredom, or neglect, but by avid bloggers who just died suddenly.
Yes I realize that this is an especially morbid thought, but really, people die suddenly all the time. I wonder how many lonely blogs are floating around out there never to be updated again? What happens to them? Do the internet gods go around deleting inactive blogs, do family members take care of that aspect of life in addition to the estate etc.?

~ by Brandy on November 4, 2005.

2 Responses to “how does my mind work?”

  1. That is morbid! I think that blogspot just leaves them to twist in the wind because I read that they don’t re-use abandoned blogger names…

    But it reminds me of when I was in junior high I had several internet friends that I emailed all the time. Then one day I got an email from one of the guys that said it was his friend and that he had died in a car crash the weekend before and that he had his passwords so he wanted to make sure people knew.

    I was kind of sad, mostly because I had no way to know if it was true or not. And you know, I probably haven’t thought about that in almost 10 years…

  2. this makes me so angry! i wanted a blog url but it was taken but it hasn’t been updated since 2002! wah.
    of course, on the other hand, that’s a person’s creation, thoughts and ideas and it shouldn’t be dismissively deleted just because no one’s posting anymore. maybe one day a future famous person’s blog will be found on the Internet.

Leave a Reply

 
